Switching to Gmail from Outlook – Quick Guide

Switching to Gmail from Microsoft Outlook – Extended Guide

Gmail Cheatsheet

Gmail Keyboard Shortcuts

See a list of common Gmail tips

Gmail FAQs

Centratel’s Google Apps accounts require a secure password that is at least 12 characters long.

To create a secure password that is easy to remember, select 4 – 6 random words. As long as it’s 12 characters long, you’ll be fine.

Your Google Apps account has at least 30 GB of storage, so you’ll probably never run out of space.

Yes. Click the gear icon and select Settings. On the General tab, scroll down to Conversation View.

  • If Conversation View is off, new messages won’t be grouped into conversations, and any existing conversations are ungrouped into separate messages.
  • If Conversation View is on, you can’t separate the messages in a conversation. However, if you want to send a reply, but don’t want it to be added to the conversation, you can simply change the subject line in your reply.

Yes, you can take back a message you just sent by enabling the Undo Send feature.

To enable Gmail’s Undo Send feature:

  1. In Gmail, click the gear icon and select Settings.
  2. Select the General tab.
  3. Scroll to Undo Send and click Enable.
  4. At the bottom, click Save Changes.

Then, if you send a message you want to take back, just click Undo at the top of the page.

Yes. To keep your account safe and prevent viruses, Gmail won’t accept or send file attachments that are executable files. There’s also a 25 MB size limitation for inbound and outbound attachments.

Deleting or archiving a message removes it from your inbox.

If you delete a message, it’s placed in the Trash and then permanently removed from your Google Apps account after 30 days.

If you archive a message, it’s moved to All Mail (your archive), where you can easily find it in the future using Google’s powerful search feature. Messages remain in your archive forever unless you choose to delete them or unless your company limits the retention of your mail.

Because you have plenty of space for storing all your mail (at least 30 GB), we recommend that you archive messages rather than permanently delete them.

Messages remain in Trash or Spam for 30 days. After that, Gmail permanently deletes them. However, administrators can still recover those messages within 25 days after the permanent deletion.

If messages from a sender outside your domain are being incorrectly tagged as spam, you can prevent this from happening by creating an email filter using the Never send it to Spam option:

  1. In Gmail, click the gear icon and select Settings.
  2. In the Filters tab, click Create a new filter.
  3. Enter the person’s address in the From field, then click Create filter with this search.
  4. Check Never send it to spam.
  5. Click Create filter.

In your old mail program, you might have stored emails you want to keep in folders. In Gmail, you use labels to categorize your emails. Labels are like folders, but with a twist: you can apply multiple labels to a message, then later find the message by looking in any of its labels. Learn more about labels in Get started with Gmail.

Make a typo in your email? Forget to add a recipient? Change your mind about sending a message?

Take back a message you just sent by enabling the Undo Send feature.

  1. In Gmail, click the settings icon and select Settings.
  2. Select the General tab.
  3. Scroll to Undo Send and click Enable.
  4. Select the number of seconds you want to be able to Undo Send for.
  5. At the bottom, click Save Changes.

Then, if you send a message you want to take back, just click Undo at the top of the page.